Call the Doctor, Quick!

INTRODUCTION:

Being in such a busy working life makes us forget how to take care of ourselves. We invest more energy and time doing our respective work duties.

Then when we get physically sick, we don’t always want to get bothered by going to the doctor and have our conditions checked. You’d say, ‘this is just a simple cold‘ or perhaps ‘this is nothing serious‘ and ‘we just have to sleep on it.’ We thought (based on experience) it’s too troublesome already and that we’re too busy and hadn’t had enough time to even drop by the clinic and might as well wait till our condition eventually gets better. So we are okay with finding out our own cure for our condition.  There  are times the ‘cures’ work their miracles on us.
However, this is not case at most times. And if worst comes to worse, ‘our remedies‘ can lead to health complications and even death.

REALIZATION:

As from experience, I learned that there’s, indeed, a relief knowing what your real health condition is [regardless if it’s good news or not.]

1st. I won’t have to speculate no longer and experiment whether such remedies or drugs would work on me.
2nd. Having gone to the doctor has spared my pocket from spending more on the ‘wrong‘ medicine.
3rd. I could have less worries on what is going on with me because…
4th. I could get the right treatment.
5th. Recuperation follows.

LEARNING THE HARD WAY:

There’s always the ‘right kind‘ of medicine for each sickness. Not because we have the same symptoms as others have may mean to say we have the same condition as them and could decide that we should take the prescriptions they’re taking. We must still seek medical advice from a physician (the right doctor) to get proper prescriptions and treatment rather than seeking a quack doctor or playing the doctor roles ourselves.

SPIRITUAL APPLICATION:

I believe it’s the same in the spiritual sense. Sometimes, we are too busy (or in denial) to notice that there’s something wrong with our spiritual health. We overlook the symptoms thinking it isn’t much a big deal until the time that we are at our worst.

Like physical sickness, our spiritual sickness must only be treated by the right spiritual doctor and the right spiritual medicine. And if there are symptoms of spiritual sickness, we must not ignore but rather seek ‘spiritual medical help’ right away. Being stubborn only worsen or perhaps prolonged our agony from the ‘disease.’

Once proper medication and treatment has been given, expect that recuperation, although the period could be different from case to case, follows.

REMINDER:

*The saddest thing when you lose your health is you lose all big opportunities together with it. So it’s better we take our health, physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually, seriously.

Yet in all these, although everything seems quite overwhelming, I trust my Lord, my God of peace. As from His very words, He said:

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

Isaiah 55:8-9

25 “So I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten,
The crawling locust,
The consuming locust,
And the chewing locust,[e]
My great army which I sent among you.
26 You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied,
And praise the name of the Lord your God,
Who has dealt wondrously with you;
And My people shall never be put to shame.
27 Then you shall know that I am in the midst of Israel:
I am the Lord your God
And there is no other.
My people shall never be put to shame.

Joel 2:25-27

CONCLUSION:

Health is wealth. Indeed, it is.

Leave a Reply

