Although We’re Oceans Apart, You’re Always In My Heart

Image“-A riveting story of secret sin and the healing power of forgiveness. Airline pilot Connor Evans and his wife, Michele, seem to be the perfect couple living what looks like a perfect life. Then a plane goes down in the Pacific Ocean. One of the casualties is Kiahna Siefert, a flight attendant Connor knew well. Too well. Kiahna’s will is very clear: before her seven-year-old son, Max, can be turned over to the state, he must spend the summer with the father he’s never met, the father who doesn’t know he exists: Connor Evans.-“

It took me time before I could finish reading the book. Not because I didn’t like Karen Kingsbury book or something. I just knew from the start that I’d definitely cry hard on it. I’m a fan of family dramas. That’s for sure. However, I’d been avoiding them from the past few months. Last year was quite a tough time for me. And from then on, I think I was just still on the road to recovery. So I wasn’t really sure I could take one yet.

Anyway, the book was worth the read and worth the tears.^^ I love all the characters. Max and Ramey are my favorites. Most of the touching part of the book for me were about these two. Ramey as a baby Christian sure is amusing while Max is truly adorable. Actually, whenever he speaks, I remember “Carl Joseph and Daisy” from Just Beyond the Clouds. (Another novel by Karen Kingsbury. Love these characters too.) I guess I identified much with their character. Their childlike heart on God was really moving. I think it was something that we lose as we get older. So reading the book has reminded me much that I should always desire that kind of heart.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, For they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8

Another lesson repeated much on the book was “Love happens when we forgive.” Kiahna taught this to Max and Ramey. Though it was sad that she died in the story, she was able to leave an enormous impact on Max and Ramey’s life, which the two were able to teach to Connor and Michelle. Her life mirrored Jesus Christ. Perhaps she had some actions and decisions in the past that she greatly regretted. Yet, she didn’t let those things to draw her away from God. If she backslid from her faith, she wouldn’t probably see how God would change her mourning into dancing.

“You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness” Psalm 30:11

Love does happen when we forgive. I do believe on this. However, forgiveness was a hard thing to do for most (that includes me). It’s one of those things I need to get the hang of. I guess it’s part of the refining period I’m going through at the moment. What Connor Evans did in the story was perhaps how I should start on it.

I absolutely recommend this book. Not a regret on reading it.

-end-

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”
Romans 8:28

Leave a Reply

